Radio Control Hobbies and More!


Magnum Engines XLS 46 Two Stroke RC Engine (RNV) (7.5cc)

Rating
13 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$93.99

No. 210756

OR

Magnum Engines XLS 46 Two Stroke RC Engine (RNV) (7.5cc)

Files

User's Guide (351.3 KB)This is the User's Guide for the Magnum XLS .46A-RNV Engine

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 13 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
A real good engine Review by jrschmidt
Rating
I have this type of engine on two planes, H9 F22 Raptor and Hobbico Nexstar, and work very well. Fly both with 10x6 prop and both are turning 14,800 on the ground. Break in was done using 10 nitro with 50/50 18% oil. I would have gave 5 but carbs can frustrate a guy because the low is touchy on how much has to be moved to go rich or lean,very little can change a lot, once it's set no issues. If any one would like to see it in action go to you tube and search for Texas City field flying the F22. Check the muffler bolts if the gasket is used, I use very small amount of high heat rtv gasket maker (Posted on 8/17/15)
Great Engine Review by J Henry
Rating
I have several of these engines.They are reliable, have smooth idle, and quick throttle response. I break them in according to the instructions which likely results in the positive view I have of them. One engine has been in multiple crashes in dirt,grass, corn & beans- and it still runs well. I am careful to keep the engine upside down after a crash, pick and scrap the dirt/grass off of it and carefully rinse the carb with fuel-all the while keeping the engine upside down. (Posted on 7/2/15)
Great idle, great top end Review by jfly
Rating
After 4 in the dirt, buried engine it still runs great. Easy to adjust and maintain idle Have it on a Sig LT-40 using Bryon 15% fuel with a 10x6 prop. Both plane and engine have taken a beating from this relative newbie and the engine keeps on flying.this rugged plane. (Posted on 8/16/14)
Oldie but goodie Review by FredRC
Rating
I got back into RC planes and had my 1995 Magnum .46 FNV (don't see this type on this site) which was frozen. I used Marvel air tool oil and brought it back to life and now it runs great every time I start it up. Had to gently bend the needle valve ratchet holder since it lost its spring from 19 years ago. Great running engine people ask me at the club field what kind of engine it is and I tell them. Loud, but thats what I love about glow engines. Model Tech Hurricane BHP turning a 10 x 6 prop. Glad to see they still sell these engines. (Posted on 6/2/14)
WOW Review by Nickname
Rating
Just broke mine in and I am impressed. Flown OS forever but felt I didn't have much to lose giving this a shot and so far it is well worth it. First start- flipped it with my chicken stick and it started on the 3rd spin. Against the advice of some reviews I mounted the needle in the remote location and had no trouble. I will admit it seems a bit leaky and spewed a lot of oil but it was tuned just shy of 4 stroking too so I'm hoping that clears up as I break it in further. I put 4 tanks through it and the last 3 starts where on the the first spin. I know for sure I will have a second on the way tomorrow. (Posted on 3/28/13)
Great engine, great price Review by Paul
Rating
I run my Magnum .,46 engines at 13,500 rpm on a Master Airscrew 10x6 & 10% Omega fuel.
You must use a 'hot' glo plug as recommended by Manufacturer.
I use Thunderbolt #115493. (Posted on 2/15/12)
I've had two for 5 years now. Review by RogerBarnstormer
Rating
Just the sweetest little machine around. After breaking it in I have only just run it more and more. Some trouble at high rpm so I will change the prop and tweak the needle. I have and will run it on full out zip with my Escapade to see the crowd go "wow".
Getting 1 or two more for my new building project this winter. The $50 BeeGee from GP that will hover for 10 minutes. A kit from swap meet at a great deal don't ya know. (Posted on 2/13/12)
Outstanding! Review by Austin Flyer
Rating
I bought this engine to put in a 40 size GP Escapade. I broke it in EXACTLY like the book calls for yesterday, then today I went flying. I also followed the book recommendations on the first few flights. By the third flight, I quit leaning the engine, and it was running GREAT. I haven't touched the low speed needle at all, as it already has a very reliable idle.
From what I can tell it is using about 1/2 ounce of fuel per minute. I had my timer set for 8 minutes and still had plenty of fuel left in an 8oz. tank.
All I can say is I am very happy I bought this engine, can't wait to take it out again.
If you buy one I think you will be very happy you did, I know I am! (Posted on 1/14/12)
Great engine Review by warningshot
Rating
I have 2 of these engines. Both run great. Will be buying more. (Posted on 4/16/11)
Great Engine Review by Gordon
Rating
My experience is a very easy to start and smooth operating engine. The engine
is still not completely broken in yet and still developing its maximum power.
Super value for the money,I had enough money left over to purchase and fit a
Jett Muffler.

A Jett Muffler is effectively a tuned pipe. This addition greatly increased the engine power out ,improved overall engine performance.
This engine is fitted to a Great Planes Escapade. This engine muffler combination is now effectively over powering the aircraft. Try it you will enjoy it.
Great Engine
(Posted on 12/6/10)

Items 1 to 10 of 13 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Magnum Engines XLS 46 Two Stroke RC Engine (RNV) (7.5cc)

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Rating