Radio Control Hobbies and More!


Magnum Engines XL 91 RFS Blue R/C 4-Stroke Engine

Rating
32 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$189.99

No. 210868

OR

Magnum Engines XL 91 RFS Blue R/C 4-Stroke Engine

Files

User's Guide (259.9 KB)This is the User's Guide for the Magnum XL .91RFS Engine

Customer Reviews

Items 11 to 20 of 32 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
91 magnum Review by butthole
Rating
nice engine for the money (Posted on 7/25/13)
First Glow Engine Review by x-electric
Rating
My first Magnum .91 would not run very well after break in. It didn't seem to respond to needle valve adjustments and the needle turned very hard. I removed the high speed needle valve and found some debris inside like chunks of o-ring but the o-rings looked fine. Cleaned everything out and then I could get it set up and it ran wonderfully :-). I have owned this engine for over a year now with no problems at all. Starts very easily. I use a starter motor without using the choke (much less messy). So I removed the choke lever as it just gets in the way. I have the engine mounted horizontally in a Great Planes Escapade 60 and have been flying this setup going on the second season now. Starts great, idles great, has plenty of power, and what a bargain! (Posted on 4/30/13)
First one Review by So far so good
Rating
I'm an OS guy but always am looking for a bargain. I have a lot of engines, including OS, YS, Super Tigre, Thunder Tiger, and a couple of mongrels. So far so good with my new Magnum 91. it started slobbering rich following the directions. I couldn't get it to hold on even using the Sullivan on board glow. it finally ran and held on at about 1 1/2 turns open on the main. Break-in was OK. It ran out a couple of tanks and it seems like it will be a strong runner. It even gave me a good smokey idle. The heat being on at high trim helped. Confidence is high,will report back after the maiden and a few other flights. I bought this on sale for $130! Now that's a bargain! (Posted on 1/15/13)
A great engine! Review by RON
Rating
I have a few Magnum engines, One of the Vegas store managers was a store manager, we were flying one day and I was using a different but one of the top brands of 4 strokes, It always gave me problems with the low end from flight to flight. He asked me to buy the 91, he wanted more flying info first handed, I bought it on sale and did the recommended break in exactly, He wanted to follow everything in the directions. I was flying a Global ultimate Bi-plane and the 46 that I had in it just wasn't getting it, I decided to install this engine in it, (It came out a little tail heavy anyway and this engine balanced it just right) I ran it pretty rich for a few days, we flew every morning. After just about half of a gallon I started leaning it out. Doing it as my 40 years in the hobby taught me. Nose in the air. I demand quick throttle response, smooth throttle response and good idle that I could depend on out of my engines
I fell in love with this engine, I had more power than the Ultimate needed but it was and still is fun. I don't remember when the first Hobby store opened in Las Vegas NV. but this is engine is still in service in the same Plane.

I now have a couple of 52 4-strokes and a few 2 stroke engines none of which I would part with. I don't pay the high price of some of the other engines, Hobby People prices it's engines so the every day flier can buy them and I do not or ever have seen a difference in Magnum in retrospect to the High cost engines. You can"t go wrong with this and the other Magnum engines.. Take the plunge, You'll be happy you did.
Ron in Navada. (Posted on 12/11/12)
Great engine at a great price Review by HPDriver
Rating
My first 4 stroke engine. Replaced a Super Tigre .75 in a Hangar 9 Spitfire MKII 60. Throttle arm on the same side so basically a drop in. Startled me by starting on the first flip. Starts and runs as good or better than any engine I have had in 50 years of model activity. Liked it so well I purchsed a Magnum RFS .52 for my Kaos .40. Same experience as the RFS .91. Usually one flip starts and flawless performance. Thank you Hobby People for great products at great prices. (Posted on 10/26/12)
Great !!!!!!! Review by Patrick
Rating
Patrick, thanks for the great comments. Matt

25 years in hobby and have spent alot of money on things that advertised quality and it turned out to be junk .., I have never had a motor that could hand start right out of the box. Very little adjusment and it has never missed a beat and pulls my aero works 300 much better than the "Junk" dle 20 I finally threw in garbage . (Posted on 8/6/12)
Great running hassle free performance Review by Mark
Rating
I have had several magnum 2 strokes over the years all were good performers. This is not my first 4 stroke but my first magnum 4 stroke. My 91RFS is in my hanger9 Fokker DVII and it runs great. Running 10 % with a 14x6 wood prop about 15 flights . Love the sound and performance. Can't beat how easy to operate these engines are.Would definitely recommend any of their engines. (Posted on 6/21/12)
Performance, Performance, Performance!! Review by Calebizsol
Rating
This engine is installed in a World Models 60 size P-51 mustang. I've ran about two gallons of fuel through it. Started with 10% Nitro and now I'm running 20% Nitro (Coolpower). The bird climbs like a banshee and is totally predictable and responsive on final approach. Never a dead stick!! Taxiing is a pleasure. I'm using a Saito Glow plug and a APC 14x6 prop. As a matter of fact, I just flew it an hour ago!! (Posted on 6/20/12)
Great engine. Review by Magum "MAN"
Rating
I have a fleet of Magnum's. 52's on Kayos's,70 on "SOPT ON " 50 ,,AT-6 , and now my new DirtyBirdy ,now have about 100flts. on it, Just one word "AWSOME",put fuel in it let warm up for a second or so, and fly, no need for all the adjusting, tach. etc. Do what you went to the field for. FLY Thats my story and I'M sticking to it. (Posted on 6/1/12)
Great Engine Review by Old Hoosier
Rating
Love the power and the sound! This my first 4 stroke engine. Wish I had gotten one years ago. This 91 is on my Big Stick 60. I have about 15 flights on it with the 91. No messing around, just start it, fly it, and enjoy.

I'll put a Magnum 4 stroke on my 81" Cub. Looking forward to flying it and listening to the neat sound of the 4 stroke. Quiet and powerful engine
(Posted on 2/24/12)

Items 11 to 20 of 32 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Magnum Engines XL 91 RFS Blue R/C 4-Stroke Engine

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Rating