Sign Up for our Newsletter

Free Shipping on orders over $25

Radio Control Hobbies and More!


Phase 3 U-2 EDF Spy Plane RR (Incl:Motor, Fan, Esc, Sx)

Rating
25 Review(s)

Availability: Out of stock

$139.99

No. 107319

Phase 3 U-2 EDF Spy Plane RR (Incl:Motor, Fan, Esc, Sx)

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 25 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
Nice plane but... Review by Don S
Rating
The same intake was glued on each side by the factory. They are handed, so one is pointing up and the other is pointing down. It looks goofy.

Otherwise it's fine. (Posted on 11/7/15)
Great Realistic Flyer Review by vortex00
Rating
Flies well. Added a nose wheel, steerable tailwheel and rudder. I also have pogos on the wings.
painted top of wingtips orange for orientation. don't get too far away! (Posted on 9/21/15)
Glad I bought it Review by Bugs
Rating
Flies well, sounds neat, plenty of power, easy to hand launch, eye catcher, fun to fly.

The only thing I didn't like, which kept me from giving 5 stars was the extreme flex in the wings. Some is to be expected, but with even moderately turbulent wind, it looked almost like a bird flapping its wings. Scary.

Some (4 per wing) narrow carbon fiber strips glued top and bottom fixed that, but I think manufacturer should have addressed that issue.

Nothing major, but I also had to rough up areas where tail feathers were attached because sticky tape wouldn't stick to the paint or even the smooth foam surface once paint was peeled off by first attempt with sticky tape. (Posted on 9/7/15)
Good model of a historic plane, but with some issues Review by Steve
Rating
I stripped all the black paint off to make it a NASA ER-2 airplane. I made the following changes also: I cut a hole in the bottom and moved the ESC so it could get some air - it still gets hot during a flight. I added a rudder which helps it in turns. I added packing tape to the bottom of the wings to stiffen them. I added plywood squares to the top and bottom of the insides of the main wings and inserted a piece of lumber strapping material through the fuse so I could screw the wings together - something about a friction fit only design really bothered me. I added a slick plastic sheet in the thrust tube to make it more efficient. One of the aileron servos was bad from the start so I had to replace it. When flying you need to make slow turns as it seems to want to loose altitude easily - maybe tip stalling a bit. Launching has to be done into the wind and at a very slight up angle - hold behind the main wings, transmitter in left hand, full throttle and give a good heave-ho. Glides very well, when landing give a lot of room to glide. Maybe spoilerons could help but I have not tried them yet. The plane is worth the price if you can tinker with it a fair bit. (Posted on 8/25/15)
been flying for 2 years, great plan Review by Nick
Rating
not sure why others are having problems, its a great plane. (Posted on 6/15/15)
Not good Review by Rj
Rating
I saw the video on the U2 it seamed to fly ok but when I received my U2 and try to fly it it didn't have enough thrust to fly. I did get it to fly but the wings folded up. Very cheaply made. First plane I bought from hobby people may be the last. I guess you get what you pay. Very disappointed (Posted on 6/15/15)
Comments and Questions Review by Kim
Rating
I assembled my beautiful U2 this AM and haven't flown it yet (I just ordered a quality receiver for my ARF kit), but I have comments/questions:

Comment: The provided decals dissolved during application, although I followed the instructions to the letter.

Comment: I'm and older guy and can't figure out exactly where the CG is supposed to be. QUESTION: Is that IN FRONT or BEHIND the leading edge of the wing? I'm thinking BEHIND, but would appreciate verification from someone. Why don't the instructions provide a picture of the desired CG location for elderly flyers such as me?

Comment: I currently plan to power this bird with 1600 mAh batteries. Other reviews here seem to lean toward 2200 batteries.

Final comment: I actually WORKED (Avionics) on a pair of full-scale U2's while stationed in Thailand with the USAF in the early seventies, so this model is taking me back some 40 years. I love it.

Thanks for any advice.

-HP
Sorry you had problems with the decals, they can be tricky. They're a transfer decal optimized to stick to the foam (regular stickers tend to fall off over time.) Contact customer service directly, they should be able to help you with replacements if you desire them.
The cg is measured back from the leading edge of the wing. So, if you lay the ruler against the side of the fuselage right under the wing, set the zero mark on the ruler right underneath the leading edge of the wing and measure back from there. It's "about" 1/3 of the way back. from the Leading edge.

The 1600mah battery, 3S (11.1v nominal voltage) should be just fine. I flew it with 1200's and that pushed them pretty hard. 2200mah size 3S battery fits but tends to make the plane nose-heavy. The 1600's should be an easy fit and should be able to used without adding lead to the tail.

Contact service directly with any questions; [email protected]

-HP customer service (Posted on 5/6/15)
Great Fun Soaring Review by Philly G
Rating
I got my U-2 on May 1st and it was ready to fly in less than 30 minutes.
May 2nd I flew it's maiden flight and I actually caught some thermals, when a flock of birds circled above showing me where the thermals were. I flew almost 7 minutes with out power just circling with the flock, I was one of them, they did not try to evade my plane, it was beautiful. This is my first glider after 30 years of flying RC and my first flight was with a flock of soaring birds "Luv It". I was pleasantly surprised to soar for the first time, it was amazing.

Philly G
(Posted on 5/2/15)
good plane Review by jinx 10
Rating
Nice looking. Fly good. But hard to find Gs with a 3 --2200 .wish it had wheels and tail stering (Posted on 3/16/15)
Great plane with potential Review by Mike
Rating
Pros:
My father-in-law actually bought me this plane for Christmas. When I opened the box I was pleased with the quality of how realistic it looks. It fly's very smooth with little to none trim, and in winds up to 10mph.

Cons:
Hand launch; It'd be awesome if it had a steerable nose wheel and the other wheels like the real plane in the aft and wing tips. Where I live you have mostly two options dirt or asphalt and both have eventually ruined the great look of the plane. The one side of the wing spar get stuck only halfway in a few times while putting it together to fly. The wings do flex a lot, I've had the receiver provided fail on me a couple times, and only the other spar that didn't get stuck I've had the wing slide out a couple times (luckily I was able to land before it came out all the way).

Overall:
It's a great smooth plane to fly. I would purchase one again and modify it to my liking next time. (Posted on 10/26/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 25 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Phase 3 U-2 EDF Spy Plane RR (Incl:Motor, Fan, Esc, Sx)

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Rating