Radio Control Hobbies and More!


Hobby People P-51D Mustang 1.2M w/Retracts Rx-Ready

Rating
14 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

Regular Price: $189.99

Special Price: $159.99

No. 117231

OR

Hobby People P-51D Mustang EP Receiver-Ready Brushless EPO Foam Aircraft w/Retracts

Files

User's Guide (5.2 MB)This is the User's Guide for the Hobby People P-51D Mustang EP

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 14 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Some issues Review by Lenny
Rating
Flies well, looks great, but it will nose while taxing hold up elevator the props are expensive. I've flown it twice and now one of the retracts don't work. $50. to replace ouch! (Posted on 6/23/14)
1st time flyers or complete novices Review by greenberet
Rating
I am not reviewing the product but it seems a good portion of the people have no concept of what to do with their set up.
It is indicated as not for 1st time pilot or someone in the beginner class and I have seen people purchase a plane that they have no how to ground control or fly even when told they should not .
A war bird gear should be extended beyond the LE , easily done by bending carefully , and a tail dragger needs to be controlled by the rudder due to the torque . The best way is not to get it in the air in the shortest space but gradually increase power and control with rudder then give up elevator when your tail; lifts off the ground . (Posted on 6/16/14)
OK Review by Mach9
Rating
Looks great! Came with an aileron servo dangling out and a wing bolt "nut" stripped. Difficult to insert and remove battery. Wobbly landing gear but works. Too much detail for the tail wheel or not enough for the main gear. Had to increase aileron throw. Not near enough to bank good or correct for bad habits. Four flights and smacked in each time and once on takeoff. Checked CG several times. Plane flies ok full power but will tip stall real bad, drop a wing and nose in at less than half power. Any ideas what the cause is or is it normal like the full scale? (Posted on 5/4/14)
OK for the money Not so good on 4cell Review by SSFY
Rating
Had this plane for five months but been flying it on 4 cell for a week then the esc just burned up???? thank god if was on take off before I got off the ground. wow. anyways removed the motor and esc , replaced with a after market esc and motor. (Posted on 3/30/14)
my black Friday plan ...I love it Review by jim lee
Rating
I fly mine with a 4 cell 1800 30c with stock prop ...she flys beautiful and fast to but more than 5 minutes also a little warm but not bad .....but I did added a 5-7 amp bec because she comes with 8 servos and if you add flaps that's 10 that have power to im still running the stock esc (Posted on 2/11/14)
good scale flyer Review by ss
Rating
I like this plane and its easy to fly if your not a beginner. I would like to try a 4s battery buy unable to find info on what size or prop to use with it???? I would like it if hobby people would give more info about 4s setup on this bird! (Posted on 2/2/14)
Takeoff and 4S battery Review by Sabyx5
Rating
Thx for info on CG!
Hi
i Need advise now on how to take off Plssss!Plane keeps nose dive and hard turn to the left. So far I hand launch her and she flies beautifully , flaps works very well.

I recently got a 4S 4500mah 30C , seems to have tremendous power and I'm afraid it might be too much?

There's no info on what 4S battery to go with.

Pls help, thx!
(Posted on 1/10/14)
CG Review by Sabyx5
Rating

The P-51D is not recommended for 1st time flyers. However, if you are
determined to fly it as a beginner, we recommend several things.

1. You should be able to get it to balance without adding weight. Move the
flight battery forward or back until the correct balance is achieved. The
battery is retained with velcro and it can be moved forward and back on
the plastic insert.

2. To balance the plane, turn the plane upside down and pick it up on the
wing surface with your figertips on the balance point. Use the
forward-most recommendation in the manual.

3. Use the lowest elevator throw recommendation.

4. Do not use flaps or retracts on the 1st flight. Just fly the plane.
When landing, just keep the wings level and slowly let the plane descend
by decreasing throttle. Just before touch down, ease in a little up
elevator as you turn the motor off. Land on the wheels and let it roll-out.



Mike Greenshields
Vice President
Product Development and Marketing
Hobby Shack, Inc.
Global Hobby Distributors
Airtronics
www.hobbypeople.net








Hi
I am new to this plane, have not flown yet. Could you pls advise how to check for CG and wht to use to add weight and where to add it?
I installed flaps.
Only flew on simulators so far and when ever flaps are used in midflight, plane has sudden lift and hard to control. Any advise pls? I am newbie to this. Thx!!! (Posted on 12/20/13)
I like it!!! Review by ss
Rating
yes the landing gear is a bit wobbly but also needed to push in the wheel collar that helped a lot. its says 4s able I did try but the motor got really HOT!!! not sure if you can use this on 4s with the stock prop??? wish they would have put more info about the 4s setup. flys nice and scale on 3s. One thing to note was the plane was TAIL heavy and needed to add nose wights "maybe too much glue on the tail". I would try a 3000mah which would fix the issue. I added flaps which was easy as it came with all the links and horns needed, just added two 9g servos. No need to buy the flap kit. (Posted on 12/19/13)
Best looking plane in my air force Review by Thomas
Rating
This is my 20th plane. And, I might add it is the best looking plane out of the box. It was very easy to assemble. The instructions are excellent. If it flies as good as it looks, I'll be VERY pleased.
My only problem was a rather tight battery compartment. I expanded the opening with my Dremel. (Posted on 10/12/13)

Items 1 to 10 of 14 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Hobby People P-51D Mustang 1.2M w/Retracts Rx-Ready

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Rating