Sign Up for our Newsletter

Free Shipping on orders over $25

Radio Control Hobbies and More!


Hobby People P-51D Mustang 1.2M w/Retracts Rx-Ready

Rating
21 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$179.99

No. 117231

OR

Hobby People P-51D Mustang EP Receiver-Ready Brushless EPO Foam Aircraft w/Retracts

Files

User's Guide (5.2 MB)This is the User's Guide for the Hobby People P-51D Mustang EP

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 21 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
Good Plane for the money Review by flyer
Rating
I have the HP P-47 and Zero. Both fly great even off grass. The mustang is bigger but still flies on a 3s 2200 battery. Flight times are in the 6 to 7 minute range with a 20 c battery. Plenty of vertical. I was surprised at the speed given the size and on three cells with the 4 blade propeller. The light wing loading makes for slow and easy landings. I added the flaps but have not had a calm day to try them. On light planes I do not use flaps when it is windy. For people new to war birds learn what the left stick is for "RUDDER" to correct for torque which will make the plane veer left on take off an when going vertical manurves.Did have one retract go bad due to a manufacturing problem. A call to HP and the issue was resolved . The sent me a new gear assembly. Great customer service. I purchased another mustang for backup. I have 16 war birds different sixes. I have to say for the money and how the fly HP brand is the best buy. Also tried 4s2200 and the amp draw was a little high. The plane was a racer with the 4s but I like the 3s foe all around flying. People having trouble with the ESC's I think they are not letting them cool between flights. On all different brand planes I have not had an issue with any stock factory ESC. I did make one mod and that was to open the top in front of the cockpit area to make a hatch for easier access to the battery. Add two magnets so the new hatch is east to remove.Did not have to do any touch up if you are careful when cutting. I used a new breakaway knife .If anyone would like pictures of the mod email

[email protected]
Happy Flying (Posted on 5/18/16)
ESC faulty, great flying plane. Review by Ell
Rating
I believe the ESC that come with this plane have major problems. The plane does fly great though, with great handling characteristics. So I give it 3 stars. However, I believe the ESC's put in this planes are crap I finally just put in a non-stock ESC, hopefully the motor wil be okay. (Posted on 5/19/15)
bad retracts, bad motor Review by ken
Rating
very hard to takeoff because of torque to the left so much. After 3rd landing slightly hard, retracts gears don't work. After 6 months, motor died. Only good thing is it flies well when everything worked (Posted on 5/17/15)
Issues Review by Flylow
Rating
Battery location makes difficult to change out Torque rolls badly on take off. This is the worst landing plane I have ever purchased (Posted on 5/9/15)
As it should be! Review by Doz
Rating
This plane is almost too pretty to fly and has absolutely correct scale lines, shape and color. Mine flys like a dream on stock prop, 3s, and flaps. This plane being a tail-dragger, requires proper takeoff and landing technique, including rudder to compensate for engine torque, and up elevator to hold nose up and tail down until rotation (using neutral elevator), and easing off rudder..... The Stang lifts right up... No flaps needed.
Landing.... 1/2 flap, reduce speed, hold a little elevator nearing ground and it will do a very scale-like 3-point landing. Flight speed is very scale-like at half throttle, and prop noise is awesome!
This plane is very acrobatic as was the original, but is not a sky-burning speed demon. I do recommend that you have substantial stick time in order to enjoy a truly remarkable scale-like ship at an unbelievable price. Complaints in other reviews (above) lead me to believe those who complain seem to lack experience? But I could be wrong.
(Posted on 3/28/15)
Excellent Product, Excellent Customer Service Review by Michael
Rating
The aircraft was very easy to build, and the flaps were easy to install. I ended up cutting off the flaps with a razor, and then putting them back on with hinges, as it was binding too much with just the Styrofoam. Aircraft handles great.

My first flight was solid, great takeoff, great landings, even in 15mph winds. However, the motor and ESC both burned out (shorted?) after that flight. I sent back the motor and esc, and Hobby People promptly sent replacement parts at no charge! EXCELLENT customer service!!! (Posted on 1/2/15)
Good Mid level plane Review by metalman
Rating
The retracts need a redesign as well as a easier access to place the lipo. Maybe a opening right in front of the canopy? A little more speed would be great as well. But without these upgrades it's a good plane and would recommend. (Posted on 12/25/14)
Some issues Review by Lenny
Rating
Flies well, looks great, but it will nose while taxing hold up elevator the props are expensive. I've flown it twice and now one of the retracts don't work. $50. to replace ouch! (Posted on 6/23/14)
1st time flyers or complete novices Review by greenberet
Rating
I am not reviewing the product but it seems a good portion of the people have no concept of what to do with their set up.
It is indicated as not for 1st time pilot or someone in the beginner class and I have seen people purchase a plane that they have no how to ground control or fly even when told they should not .
A war bird gear should be extended beyond the LE , easily done by bending carefully , and a tail dragger needs to be controlled by the rudder due to the torque . The best way is not to get it in the air in the shortest space but gradually increase power and control with rudder then give up elevator when your tail; lifts off the ground . (Posted on 6/16/14)
OK Review by Mach9
Rating
Looks great! Came with an aileron servo dangling out and a wing bolt "nut" stripped. Difficult to insert and remove battery. Wobbly landing gear but works. Too much detail for the tail wheel or not enough for the main gear. Had to increase aileron throw. Not near enough to bank good or correct for bad habits. Four flights and smacked in each time and once on takeoff. Checked CG several times. Plane flies ok full power but will tip stall real bad, drop a wing and nose in at less than half power. Any ideas what the cause is or is it normal like the full scale? (Posted on 5/4/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 21 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Hobby People P-51D Mustang 1.2M w/Retracts Rx-Ready

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Rating