Qualified Orders Over $75 And All APO/FPO Ship Free*

Radio Control Hobbies and More!


DHK Wolf 1/10 4WD RTR Buggy w/NiMH Batt & Charger

Rating
38 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

Regular Price: $189.99

Special Price: $119.99

No. 345363

OR

DHK Wolf 1/10 4WD Brushed Buggy

Files

Raz-R/Wolf Owner's Manual (11.7 MB)This is the Owner's Manual for the DHK Raz-R and Wolf - Brushed Version

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 38 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
Excellent Value Review by Lily's RC
Rating
This is a great deal. I was looking for a "dog toy" for my Australian Cattle Dog Lily. She loves to chase this car, and all the better when I strap on one of her stuffed animals. The car is faster than she is right out of the box. I shopped around and there is no comparison. (Posted on 6/20/14)
good and cheap! Review by Hector
Rating
I have other brands of rc cars and I bought this one for my son, so far is working well and my son like it, now my daughter want one for her. (Posted on 6/16/14)
much better than the toy we bought at frys Review by Aaron
Rating
pretty fast and turns on a dime (Posted on 6/14/14)
junk Review by roger
Rating
really nice and fun when it works the few weeks, very expensive replacement parts and bad customer service (Posted on 6/13/14)
great buggy Review by Nate
Rating
lots of fun (Posted on 6/5/14)
Excellent Value, Great Looks Review by LightRules
Rating
I'm giving this buggy (Wolf - Brushed Model) a 5-star rating because of its overall VALUE. I bought 2 of these (on sale) for my kids at xxx.xx each. At this price, it's hard to find a 1/10th scale buggy + 4WD + 2.4 GHz radio. Also, the looks of the thing is striking with the black chassis and orange suspension/shocks. It is a VERY good-looking buggy with a high quality feel.

Over the past few weeks we've played a lot with these buggies (along with a friend who also bought 1 for his kids). Here are some thoughts about the brushed version of the Wolf buggy:

+Speed: It goes pretty fast. Now this is relative, depending on what you're used to. But it can go 20 MPH, and being 1/0th scale, it looks pretty fast. If you run this thing full-speed into your ankle, it's going to hurt pretty bad. That said, it isn't a brushless, LIPO-battery running buggy, so it isn't going to blow you away. But for me, my 10 year old son, and my 8 year old daughter, it's fun to run these things outside on the grass, dirt, or concrete.

+Steering: I like how responsive the steering is. The kids are learning great hand-eye coordination just messing around with this buggy's steering. Very accurate and precise.

+Build-Quality: The Wolf has a nice heft and feel to it. It's got a mixture of hard plastic and metal/aluminum parts. But picking it up, you can feel a good heft to it. We've crashed it into sidewalks, the buggies have smashed into each other (not on purpose), flipped over on concrete, and there are still going strong. No broken parts yet (except for the STEERING SERVO - more on that below). I like the overall quality of the build and feel of this thing.

+Radio: This is a decent radio. It's 2.4 GHz frequency, so you can have 10 of these Wolfs running around and no one will be controlling anyone else's car. I also like some of the fine-tuning knobs it has, including adjusting the front wheels' camber alignment (e.g., if the car is veering left, you can make a simple turn of the knob on the radio and it will straighten up) and a speed governor (e.g., you can turn the knob counter-clockwise and hand it to a 6 year old and the car will only go 5 MPH, but you can turn it clockwise and go full blast when someone older wants to go really fast with it). Lastly, the range of the radio-to-buggy is pretty far. I haven't lost control over the car's distance yet, so I don't know just how far it can go before losing signal, but I've sent the Wolf far enough away that it looks pretty tiny in the distance before bringing it back. Overall, the radio does a good job.

+Parts Availability: Since Hobby People sells this as one of their main-stays, they usually have parts readily available for it. I bought an extra plastic body-shell for my daughter so we could paint her's purple. It cost $22 for the plastic body and a sheet of Wolf decals. Not super cheap, but ok. That said, I wish the parts were a little less costly since this is a intro-hobby grade RC car.

-Steering Servo: So we've had 2 of these things go out on us (and the other day while running with my friend's Wolf, his went out too). In all our cases, the front wheels would turn right but would grind and make all sorts of noises when we tried to turn it left. Clearly something was wrong. For our buggy, both times Hobby People put the part in under warranty. I just took it in and they did it right there on the spot. The plastic gear-tooth on the servo is cheap and can easily wear out or break. They have recommended a metal version that costs about $40 after tax. That would be 40% of what I paid for this whole buggy! So I've held off. I think there are less costly, metal-geared options out there. I'd recommend checking with a smaller local hobby store (LHS) in your area for ideas. One *possible* alternative that *might* work (according to my LHS) is the Duratrax SX-200 Metal Gear High-Torque Servo ($25). But I don't know that for sure. The next time mine goes out (and I'm expecting it to), I'll goto my LHS and give the Duratrax unit a try.

-Battery: So the Wolf comes with a 1800MAH (6-cell) NiMH battery. A full charge using the stock charger will take about 4 hours. I'd highly recommend you just pick up a 3300MAH or 4500MAH unit (we got the Hi-Energy brand ones) and a faster charger (e.g., Hobby People Activator-EZ AC/DC LiPo & NiMH Charger 50 Watt). I picked up the Hitec X4 AC Plus charger which is more expensive but can charge 4 batteries at a time. I don't know exactly how fast the HP charger will charge a 4500MAH battery (the stock charger will take 12 hours to charge the 4500MAH), but my Hitec does it in 75 minutes from empty. The 4500MAH battery gives us a long-time outside running; I'd say we get about 45 minutes to 1 hour of actual "play time" (stop, go, some full blasts, some just going slow around turns, etc.). GET HIGHER MAH BATTERIES AND A CHARGER.

So overall, we love this buggy. It's fun having 2 of them to go at it. It's brought a new dimension to "hanging out time" with my kids. If this buggy were $150-$180, I wouldn't rate it 5 stars, but for what I personally paid, it's quite a deal. I hope this review has been somewhat helpful. (Posted on 5/29/14)
kids love it Review by Kim
Rating
We went to rcx at fair grounds at bought the wolf, kids have played with it every day. (Posted on 5/28/14)
1 Month Follow Up Review - A Great Brushed 1/10 Buggy for the Price Review by CobraJocky
Rating
This is a follow up review after having it in the hands a kid (grandson) for the first month. Aside from my earlier initial review stating that the manual is horrible for a "Newbee" to learn about this model, we have to say that so far this is a great 1/10 scale Brushed RTR buggy for the price ($119.95 sale). I carefully "broke in" the brushed motor using the old RC airplane method of running the motor in a glass of cold de-mineralized water on a couple full charged batteries. As yet even with a number of very hard runs in the dirt, no signs of the motor frying. When it does and I'm sure it will fry, I'll upgrade it to a Brushless motor and ESC from some good source. I'm sure many of the so-so quality power-train gears and pinions will fail as we run the buggy hard and I'll upgrade those as well.

Also, as yet we haven't had the fragile original plastic gear Steering Servo strip out, as we hear from many owners. And we'll have Mark at the Fountain Valley store update it with the Metal Gear version when the weak and fragile stock one dies prematurely.

Otherwise, I can't say we've found anything else about the Wolf Brushed version that is questionable in quality. It is a great looking buggy, handles very very well, is faster on a LiPO and the suspension is first class with being off of a 1/8th scale truck. The Wolf is HEAVY though and I'll be looking at ways to lighten it for when my Grandson is wanting to "club race".

Suggestion for Hobby People/Global: Get more "upgrade" gear, parts and motor options for this and other DHK Truggies and keep the cost of the parts low, because these are "Kids" RC level trucks and they can't afford a lot these days. (Posted on 5/28/14)
great buggy Review by CJ
Rating
I have the slash 2 and 4wd which are great, but bought the wolf for my 10 year old son because of price. I am shocked at durability of the buggy, as good as my traxxas. (Posted on 5/8/14)
my boys each have 1 Review by Amy
Rating
we started with 3 cars from costco and returned them all after Christmas. Our neighbor boys had these and after seeing them, my boys had to have them too. Compared with the toy brands, these cars are the best. Do yourself a favor and buy extra batteries right away. it will save you a trip. (Posted on 5/6/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 38 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: DHK Wolf 1/10 4WD RTR Buggy w/NiMH Batt & Charger

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Rating