Radio Control Hobbies and More!


DHK Hunter BL SCT 1/10 4x4 Brushless - No Battery/Charger

Rating
20 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

Regular Price: $299.99

Special Price: $249.99

No. 345387

OR

DHK Hunter BL SCT 1/10 4WD Brushless

Files

RC Car Action Review (977.7 KB)Review of the DHK Hunter from the December 2013 Issue of RC Car Action
LiPo Battery Safety Guide (96.5 KB)

Failure to comply with the safety guidelines in this document may result in damage to your battery, property damage, fire, personal injury and/or loss of life.

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 20 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
super fast and great at ocrc Review by Nick
Rating
I have been taking this to the track the last 2 weekends. It is more durable that associated and I am winning. (Posted on 7/19/14)
Update to May review Review by PhrogUSMC
Rating
Since my last review, I've ran this truck (still stock) against a $500+ Traxxas Slash 4x4 and, while the trucks perform almost identically, the Hunter is slightly faster in a straight line. I'd love to get them both on an actual track together. After seeing the Traxxas on 3S power though, I had to order a 3S Lipo from Amain. The Hunter is very fast, but the tires balloon horribly. It feels like Global used very thin foam in the tires. (The Associated SC10 stock wheel/tire/foam work really well. No ballooning). I will be upgrading soon. Also, I couldn't find any info anywhere on whether or not the stock motor can actually run on 3S, so I tried it anyway. The motor gets EXTREMELY hot, but it hung in there through a couple runs. I would definitely let it cool between batteries. I plan on upgrading the motor/esc soon, so I don't have anything to worry about with my 3S battery. (Posted on 6/27/14)
How can this possibly be "1/10th" scale?? Review by CobraJocky
Rating
I don't understand how this truck can be called a 1/10th scale since it is at least 10 to 20% BIGGER than the 1/10th scale Wolf and Raz-R which looks like a toy next to the Hunter? Someone needs eye-glasses over at DHK or Global to call the Hunter a 1/10th scale,
it's clearly more like 1/8th scale.

As soon as I had the local Hobby People shop install a far better Metal Gear steering servo for the frail plastic gear stock one, the Hunter BL became a near perfect SCT Truck on par with any Traxxas at any price. Still a bit too heavy (I'm working on putting the Hunter on a diet) for more serious club racing though. The power-train gears and pinion look a bit feeble to me too and I expect some early failures, but RC truck racing is all about upgrading and repairs all the time.

I sure wish the radio system was compatible with someone else's TX off the shelf, while the RX is just fine, the DHK transmitter is quite a bit "bush league" with poor responsiveness. Anyone else got a clue if the DHK radio is a compatible knock-off of Sanwa. Futaba, etc??

Keep improving this DHK breed Global, the more economically competitive toys out there to beat on Traxxa$$, AE, Kyosho, etc, the better for the hobby and us Po Folks.

(Posted on 5/28/14)
Very durable and fun. Good overall truck. Review by PhrogUSMC
Rating
I ordered my Hunter BL back in Oct when it was first released. When it arrived and I opened the box there was fluid all over the inside of the box and chassis. Upon inspection I noticed that 2 of the shocks had leaked out. I rebuilt them a couple of times over the next couple of weeks, but continued having problems. I contacted DHK and they sent me a new pair of shocks at no charge. If I remember correctly I also had a problem with the servo. Despite these issues, the truck is very fun, very fast, and very durable. I have a pair of 5000mah 2S lipos that I switch between. This is my first brushless truck and first RC period since I got out of the hobby over 5 years ago.
As fast as it is with the 3970kv motor, my roommates ECX Torment BL with 3300kv is faster. That is most likely due to the parasitic power loss of the Hunter having 3 differentials vs the 2WD ECX only having one, plus gearing. I'm looking into solving that issue. The 4WD Hunter is very easy to control and toss around without getting bent out of shape. It is also extremely durable and can take a beating. I just recently broke a steering arm (truck has taken MANY very hard hits), and am on here today to order a replacement. I'm thinking about trying a 3S Lipo as well. The truck should handle the extra power no problem.

I definitely recommend this product if you are looking for a great brushless SCT at a low cost. (Posted on 5/24/14)
fully field tested Review by no longer a newbee
Rating
I posted a review as newbee back in febuary. I have been playing with this truck at least 4 times a week with my son by our house on and off road. bought my son the traxxas slash cause everyone told me it will hold up better. WRONG!!! they break just the same. dollar for dollar u cant beat the BL Hunter. the only Con is Traxxas has a lot of after market upgrades, whereas the DHK don't. but side by side all around bashing and playing the Slash is no better or stronger than the Hunter. But definitely cost More!
P.S my friend got a Team Asscociate SC10 . they are slow and definitely not build for bashing. he crashed head on T-Boned me at his full speed. he broke his front A-arm front bumper and was done for the day. I picked up my Hunter looked at it shook it a little to make sure nothing broke, put it back down and kept on playing!
did I mention mine only cost $249.99. :) (Posted on 5/21/14)
Great with turns Review by Mj
Rating
Great car only problem was to slow so I upgraded it to a castle creations motor ran better. (Posted on 3/10/14)
worth the price Review by newbee
Rating
I am fairly impressed with this car. got it on sale for $249, doesnt come with batteries or charger but the hobby people 4000mah lipo for $20 works just fine. the car is fast out of the box and can definitely take some good bashing. not too bad for the price. the electronics reliabilitiy is kinda poor. the servo is pretty much junk, replaced it after 3 runs cause the gears stripped, but replacement cost is not bad. $20-$40 bucks. they replaced my 2.4gz controller twice. manufacturers defect. if that came out of my pocket then it wouldnt be worth it. all in all with this hobby you need to know and like how to tweak these little parts every now and then. as long as you check and tighten up and lock tight certain screws every now and then. this is a great cost alternative to the 4x4 slash. it will handle the bashing. if your one of those guys that is not kind of handy. spend the extra money up front and get the slash. it will hold up for you much better and actually cost you less in the long run. (Posted on 2/27/14)
5 Stars Review by Jorge
Rating
This is my first bl truck. I also own a rustler so this was a big upgrade. Truck is fast and handles all jumps. I am using the hobby people 4000 lipos and the truck is perfect. (Posted on 2/18/14)
Great alternative to Slash 4x4 Review by Rick
Rating
I love my new Hunter BL! I picked this bad boy up for 249 and couldn't be happier. I've been riding it pretty hard for a week now-
bumping, jumping, flipping and general bashing and the car has held up wonderfully. I'm no expert but it seems to actually handle better than a stock slash 4wd; probably because it has a lower center of gravity. I bet it handles similar to the LCG slash kit which is way more $$$! The stock slash is 400 but comes with batt and charger;however, it's a slow charger and NiMH- I'd rather have LiPo anyway and that can be found rather cheap. Not to mention a ton of aluminum upgrades, stiffeners and super large shocks! The springs are 16mm according to HP so the big bores of traxxas and Associated are too small! I haven't even mentioned the three oil filled diffs! It would take a lot of extra dough to get close to this. That being said, they're are virtually no aftermarket parts- I purchased a sway bar for $8 but there is not much else besides a few aluminum upgrades.

As for all those who are complaining about the servo, I agree they should've went with a metal gear one to start with such a big truck. But a great replacement (hitec mG 925 or 945) can be had for only $30. I did this on my sons Wolf and everything has been great since Christmas.

One important note to liPo users- the waterproof ESC has a large variety of programming options. The default LVC is off- you need to program it to your desired level (3.0v in my case). (Posted on 1/24/14)
hp has great customer service. they hooked up a better servo for as cheap as the guy could! they need more employees in the san diego stores that would help everyone Review by servo Steven
Rating
Hp came threw for cheap need more employees in the san diego stores (Posted on 1/12/14)

Items 1 to 10 of 20 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: DHK Hunter BL SCT 1/10 4x4 Brushless - No Battery/Charger

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Rating